Pfaff Hobby 1040 review

Sew, Mama, Sew is hosting a sewing machine review. And here is my review of the Pfaff Hobby 1040:

Pfaff Hobby 1040

How long have you had it?

About 7 years. My mom gave it to me for my birthday. It was packed away in storage for a couple of years while we lived overseas. Funny enough, that’s when I really got into quilting and was renting time on a Pfaff Quilt Expression (lovely machine as well!)

How much does that machine cost (approximately)?

Not sure, as mentioned above, it was a gift.

What types of things do you sew (i.e. quilting, clothing, handbags, home dec projects, etc.)?

Mainly quilts and bags, but I also do the random fix for clothing and home dec (pillows, curtains).

How much do you sew? How much wear and tear does the machine get?

I sew about 1.5-3 hours most days of the week.

Do you like/love/hate your machine? Are you ambivalent? Passionate? Does she have a name?

I love my machine! It’s nothing fancy, but it is a work horse and it fits my needs. (I’m not the naming type, but I think it would be a guy’s name)

What features does your machine have that work well for you?

I don’t really need a whole lot for a machine – straight stitch, zigzag, backstitch, zipper foot and I’m set. This machine has more stitches plus a button foot, which I’ve never used.

Is there anything that drives you nuts about your machine?

Nothing really annoys me about my machine. Though I wish I knew more about basic machine care. I think if I wasn’t afraid to take it apart to clean and oil it, it would work smoother in between servicings.

One tick with my machine – when the bobbin gets low I tend to have to hand crank the wheel to get it going. Not annoying, except if I happen to be backstitching, then it’s a bit tricky.

Would you recommend the machine to others? Why?

Yes. It is easy to use, reliable, easy to carry, a work horse.

Do you have a dream machine?

A long-arm! Though I would also for a bigger house:) Probably not going to happen for quite awhile.

4 comments

    • Esther – Here’s the link to the basic machines on Pfaff’s website: http://www.pfaff.com/en-US/Machines#.24 Mine is similar to the 140s or 160s. From their website, you can find the closest dealer to you. If the dealer doesn’t have one in stock, they should be able to order it for you.

      Another thing I would try is going to your local sewing shop and talk to them about what you’re looking for. They may not have a Pfaff, but there are others out there. Make sure you test out the machines.

      A lot of machines are computerized, if that’s all they are showing you ask about mechanical ones.

      Hope that helps.

  1. wow I have a Viking Designer 1 which embroiders and I NEVER use it. I took the embroidery unit out once for a class and never used it again. I don’t know where you are, but I would consider selling it. I’m near Chicago.


Leave a Reply

