Tree Block #2

This block uses half-square triangles and rectangles. I decided to start out with 4 levels, which meant 8 HST. I first needed to look up how to calculate the dimensions – finished size + 7/8 inches. I wanted a 2 inches finished HST and wanted to give myself a little wiggle room so I cut the squares at 3 inches.

Once I made the HSTs, I pressed and trimmed them to 2.5.

Tree2piecing

Then I laid out the HSTs along with the rectangles to create the tree. I worked from the top down. I wanted the next level HSTs to hit the preceeding HSTs in the middle.

Next I worked from the bottom up, adding enough white on each side so all four levels were the same length. I am ok with a little extra here. However, to make sure the tree lined up evenly I marked the middle of the colored rectangles and pinned from the middle outwards.

Tree2Composite

Once everything was sewn, I pressed and squared up the block.

Leave a Reply

