7 More Inches

I’ve been working on the back of the New York Beauty quilt. I normally like to do a pieced back and this time was no different. About a year and half ago, I found this beautiful Valorie Wells Karavan fabric and bought 3 yards. I also had a yard and half of a coordinating blue solid. After thinking about yardage and how to combine these two I decided to do a panel of the Karavan fabric, fussy cut 3 of the elephants from the Karavan fabric and outline them in a wonky log cabin, then surround them with the blue fabric.

Getting into the piecing I realized that I did not have enough blue fabric and had no idea what company and specific color it was, so….I had to find 7 more inches with my scraps.

7inches

And the finished panel:

7inchesfinished

I love how this turned out and hope that it doesn’t look like I was trying to find 7 more inches.

Leave a Reply

