Friendship Star

Now on to the Stars!

This is the first quilting block I ever sewed together and I thought it would be nice to include it.

This block is made up of half-square triangles (HST) and squares. I started out with the HSTs – 2 green 3 inch squares and 2 white 3 inch squares. I drew a line from corner to corner on the back of the white squares, placed a green and white square right sides together, and sewed a quarter inch to either side of the line. Then I cut in half along the line and pressed the seam to the dark fabric. I then trimmed the block to 2.5 in square.

Lay out your block – sew squares into rows, then the rows together.

FriendshipStar1

Two helpful hints:

  • When pressing the rows I like to press the middle row towards the center block. The top and bottom rows I press away from the center. This way the seams can be nested.
  • Pin when sewing the rows together! It looks wonderful when the seams all line up.

FriendshipStar2

I did two more friendship blocks experimenting with the size.
HST squares at 2.5 and 2, trimmed down to 2 and 1.5 squares.

FriendshipStarGroup

Finished blocks are 6.5, 5, and 3.5 inches.

Leave a Reply

