Swirling Star

The inspiration for this star was from a table runner in a Connecting Threads catalogue. I cut out the picture a long time ago and wished I had saved the pattern information as well. This is a bit more complicated, especially because of its small size.

I started with the HST – 2.5 inch squares, 1 red and 1 white. I drew a line from corner to corner on the back of the white square. Then placed the red and white squares right sides together and sewed a quarter inch on either side of the line. I then cut on the line and pressed and trimed to 2 inch squares.

SwirlingStar_HST

I then cut out two, 2 inch red squares and drew a line from corner to corner on the back. I place one red square RST with one of the HST squares. The line I drew crossed the seam (perpendicular) on the HST. Once again sewed a quarter inch on either side of the line, cut on the line, pressed and trimed off the dog ears.

SwirlingStar_QST

I then cut out four, 1.25 x 1.75 inch rectangles of the background fabric and one, 1 inch square for the center.

Here’s the layout of the block.

SwirlingStar_initialLayout

Next, I sewed one background piece to one side of the QST and laid out the block again. SwirlingStar_Layout2

Then I attached one side to the center square, lining up the QST side to the right side of the center square. I only sewed about a half inch on this side.

Working clockwise, I attached the second and third side; lining up the QST side to the right edge of the center block. I sewed the entire seam. Pressed and trimmed (where needed).

SwirlingStar_sies

When attaching the fourth side pin the first side down and out of the way. Sew the entire fourth side seam.

Now comes the tricky part – sewing the first and fourth sides together. Use pins so the seam lays flat. Press and trim.SwirlingStar_lastSide

This block finishes at 3.5 inches square.

SwirlingStar_finished

Leave a Reply

