(Not) Planning a Quilt

Do you start a project, inspired by a block or pile of fabric, but don’t really plan it all out? Normally, I’m a planner. But every once in a while I have a lapse. Which is plaguing me right now.

I started this City Blocks pattern by Jenifer at 42 Quilts with a great pile of Cherrywood fat quarters with some stash fabric to match.

City Blocks pattern by  42 Quilts

So excited to start I didn’t think through to the end.

And then I got about a quarter of the blocks sewn and realized that I needed to figure out the end.

City Blocks pattern by  42 Quilts

After a week of contemplating, I might have figured it out.

Old Towne Quilt by Red Patch. City Blocks pattern by  42 Quilts.

I like the completed blocks with probably two of these “backwards” blocks. I’m hoping to have enough green left over to do a green sashing (maybe scrappy), along with an outer cream sashing. Here’s to hoping this works out. (And it would be great to get some more sunny days for some better pictures.)

One comment

  1. Pingback: To Finish or Not to Finish « Red Patch Designs


Leave a Reply

