January QDAD Round-up

My two favorite Quilt Design a Day (QDAD) designs from January:

This was the first day of my self-challenge to design with rectangles and the spark photograph was buttons. Funny how that works. I love the simple beauty in “Line Button”. The various sizes/widths of the rectangles make this design striking.

Line Button, January 5, QDAD design

Line Button, January 5, QDAD design

“Windows to the Night” started out as a four-block design that I rotated around, adding the red square at the end. I remember being surprised with the final design.

Windows to the Night, January 26, QDAD design

Windows to the Night, January 26, QDAD design

My two worst designs in January:

In “Smiles” I really enjoyed the half-circles and playing around with placement and negative shape. However, it seems too busy and the colors are a bit off. (I think it’s the gray, but I’m not sure. And since I’m not so enamored with the design, I didn’t go back and play with it.)

Smiles, January 2, QDAD design

Smiles, January 2, QDAD design

“Monster Mouth” was interesting to work with the shapes, but it’s too harsh for me.

Monster Mouth, January 23, QDAD design

Monster Mouth, January 23, QDAD design

One comment

  1. Pingback: QDAD Redo – January « Red Patch Designs


Leave a Reply

