Technicolor Galaxy Skill Builder BOM

I am doing Pile ‘O Fabric’s 2015 skill builder block of the month (BOM) – Technicolor Galaxy. The design is stunning!

The reason I chose this BOM is to practice different sewing techniques, specifically, applique is on my to-learn list for this year. Why? Because for some reason I have been avoiding it. Which is silly because I hand sew my bindings and I’ve been slowly working on an English paper-piecing quilt. So I know I can hand sew. I need to conquer this fear!

The quilt design uses a color wheel format. Although I like rainbow coloring schemes, they are not my favorite. So I was playing around with  the idea of primary colors with the color wheel in the very center.

Thankfully, as part of the class, we were able to download coloring sheets. And color I did. I’m so low-tech sometimes. I grabbed the colored pencils and put a movie on for the kids.

Technicolor Galaxy color plan

I do love primary colors. My plan is to work from light to dark. I also really want the colors in the center to flow into each other. So I went stash-diving and came up with this fabric pull.

Technicolor Galaxy fabric pull

I most likely won’t use all of this fabric, but I wanted a good variety.

Leave a Reply

