Inspiration in the Everyday

Taking photos from my everyday life and finding design inspiration in them. Inspired by my participation in the Quilt Design A Day (QDAD)  group on Facebook.

May’s inspiration is our usual sidewalk.

Sidewalk

My first design is a study of perspective. I began with vertical lines growing smaller towards the center. Then I duplicated and rotated this set of lines 90 degrees to make a lovely crosshatch.

Perspective study 1, design by Jenn Rodriguez

 The second design is inspired by the line of lampposts. Once again I started with the vertical, then duplicated and rotated the set 90 degrees. When a design is not quite right, this is my favorite method to play with my idea.

Inspired by the lampposts, design by Jenn Rodriguez

The third design is another study of perspective.

Perspective study 2, design by Jenn Rodriguez

Leave a Reply

