Riley Blake Challenge – Finish

The Modern Quilt Guild is hosting a Riley Blake Challenge using the Cottage Garden fabric line. You can see my first post here.

I quickly worked through my flying geese and paper-pieced 4-point stars. At this point, I had thought these 4 empty squares would be the yellow background. But I had enough fabric leftover that I decided to piece square-in-a-square blocks.

Riley Blake MQG Challenge, by Jenn Rodriguez

Sewing the rows together.

Riley Blake MQG Challenge, by Jenn Rodriguez

Then I had to decide how I was going to finish the quilt. This was one of my options.

Riley Blake MQG Challenge, by Jenn Rodriguez

Obviously, I didn’t have enough fabric. But with my scraps I came up with this version.

MQG Riley Blake Challenge 2015, by Jenn Rodriguez

And I love it! Those little triangles so cute?!

For the back I included the rest of my leftovers and raided my stash for golden yellows. It was a fun improv back.

MQG Riley Blake Challenge 2015, by Jenn Rodriguez

As I was completing this quilt, I thought it might be a great beginner’s quilt. A variety of blocks, using classic quilting shapes. It looks good on-point or as a regular grid layout. This size (46″x46″) sewed up fairly quickly, but it would be easy to enlarge it. Maybe another project – write up a pattern for it.

 

One comment


Leave a Reply

