Year of Exploring Applique

This year I wanted to explore applique. It is not a technique I had used very much before this year. In fact, I felt like I was avoiding projects that used applique. I needed to change that.

My big project this year was While the Cat’s Away by Wendy Williams. It is currently at the quilters, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to finish it before the New Year.

While the Cat's Away, pattern by Wendy Williams, pieced by Jenn Rodriguez

My other project is Technicolor Galaxy – a skillbuilder block of the month through Pile ‘O Fabrics. I’m about 2/3rds of the way through.

I have 2 more projects I’d like to at least start this year. One is my QDAD design from 23 December 2014. I plan to piece the triangles, then raw edge applique them to the background.

Stars, design by Jenn Rodriguez

The other is Fountain in Alison Glass’ Applique book. This one is reverse applique. I’m using this dark splatter Alison Glass fabric and a mint jersey fabric.

ReverseApplique

Leave a Reply

