Inspiration in the Everyday

Taking photos from my everyday life and finding design inspiration in them. Inspired by my participation in the Quilt Design A Day (QDAD)  group on Facebook.

November’s inspiration is this unit insignia.

Unit insignia

My first design I wanted to explore combining circle and hexagons. It’s not a common combination in quilting.

Inspired by a unit insignia, design by Jenn Rodriguez

 The second design I focused on the banner, but simplified the shape.

Inspired by a unit insignia, design by Jenn Rodriguez

For my final design I wanted to do something with the octopus arms. I came up with wedges leading to a center shape. Then I played around with overlap and tiling.

Inspired by a unit insignia, design by Jenn Rodriguez

Leave a Reply

