Finish – While the Cat’s Away

Can I just gush for a moment?

While the Cat's Away; pattern by Wendy Williams, pieced by Jenn Rodriguez, quilted by Page Johnson

I love this quilt! So much time and work went into this one. I felt like I really pushed myself learning new techniques and I am thrilled with the finished quilt. Plus, it’s a lovely non-traditional medallion quilt.

Onto specifics. The pattern is While the Cat’s Away by Wendy Williams. I did this as part of a Block of the Month (BOM) club through Material Obssession in Australia. I loved spending time absorbing the color and pattern mixtures the Material Obsession team put together for this BOM. It’s a mixture of machine piecing and wool hand applique. Page Johnson quilted it for me. She did a wonderful job (and smoothed out some of my rough areas. Thank you, Page!).

This year I was focusing on applique. It’s not a technique I had used much and I wanted to change that. This pattern used a lot of wool, hand applique. Can I tell you how slow I was when I started?! I was consistently behind the pace. I could machine piece the blocks in a couple of hours. But it took me 2 months of at least an hour a day to hand applique the blocks. Slowly, I got used to the stitches and increased my speed. By the last month I was caught up and finished the final block within that month.

While the Cat's Away; pattern by Wendy Williams, pieced by Jenn Rodriguez, quilted by Page Johnson

Other challenges with this quilt. The first of the 4 sunbursts blocks almost did me in. I did not understand the instructions and went back multiple times to cut the circle correctly. I finally got the right size so I could sew the inset circle.

While the Cat's Away; pattern by Wendy Williams, pieced by Jenn Rodriguez

I also learned how to do y-seams. I am far from proficient on these. But as long as I take my time, they turn out well.

While the Cat's Away, Month 7 block. Pattern by Wendy Williams.

For the back, I used some of the leftover fabric along with Carolyn Friedlander’s tangerine crosshatch from her Architextures line.

While the Cat's Away; pattern by Wendy Williams, pieced by Jenn Rodriguez, quilted by Page Johnson

Look at that quilting! I was very nervous and unsure of how to quilt this myself. I’m so glad I decided to send it to a long-armer.

6 comments

  1. Pingback: 2015 Year of Applique Review « Red Patch Designs


Leave a Reply

