Finish – Stars

Stars is a QDAD design I did in December 2014. (Yes, it’s taken me a year to actually make it.)

Stars, QDAD design, 23 Dec 2014, by Jenn Rodriguez

It is a combination of machine piecing and raw-edge machine applique. This quilt is a part of my exploration of applique. I love how fast this type of applique is. It only took a few sewing days to put the top together. Now I just need to use this quilt and wash it a few times to see how durable raw-edge applique is.

 

Piecing for Stars quilt, designed and sewn by Jenn Rodriguez

I had to cut down my original triangles so everything would fit on the amount of background fabric I had. I used Pellon Wonder Under to fuse the pieced triangles to the background fabric.

Stars quilt, designed and sewn by Jenn Rodriguez

I decided to machine applique all three layers. I think next time I use this technique, I’ll applique the shapes to the background fabric first, then doing the normal quilt sandwich.

Stars quilt, designed and sewn by Jenn Rodriguez

For the back used left-over fabric to create striped piece in the middle, then surrounded it with all the cheddar yellow fabrics I could find in my stash.

Back of Stars quilt, designed and sewn by Jenn Rodriguez

One comment

  1. Pingback: 2015 Year of Applique Review « Red Patch Designs


Leave a Reply

