60/40 Finished

Back in summer, QDAD announced we had the opportunity for a display in QuiltCon in February of 2017. Members would create designs from a common spark image and palette and then make their designs into quilts. I think it’s fairly common among the members that we do a lot more designs than we do actual quilts. So this was a good challenge and motivation.

Immediately my eyes were drawn to the angles in the white and black buildings of the spark image taken by Michelle Wilke.

qdad      60/40 design by Jenn Rodriguez

Now let me just say that I don’t always think about construction until after I’m finished with the design. So when I sat down to think about how I was going to create this, I kind of balked. I started by figuring out the proportion of the top half to the bottom (hence the name 60/40). Then did my quilt math for width and length. Finally, taking stock of my available tools to figure out the angles. I used Jaybirds Hex N More template. Once I figured out how I was going to cut the angles, I did the top all in one weekend, so I didn’t forget how to do it.

60/40, designed, pieced and quilted by Jenn Rodriguez

And I still wanted to do my original design. So that’s what I did for the back – using my scraps to create color blocks.

60/40, designed, pieced and quilted by Jenn Rodriguez

I tend to have my boys help me out with photographing the quilt. Most times I get really frustrated, trying to get them to hold it straight and hide their faces, arms and feet. But then I get photos like this and it makes me laugh.

6040_finishedback4_post

A great challenge and #QDADtoReality

3 comments

  1. Pingback: 2016 Round Up « Red Patch Designs


Leave a Reply

