Odd Man Out

Odd Man Out started as a mini quilt to explore the theme of Minimalist Improvisation by Season Evan for the 2016 Mighty Lucky Quilting Club. This was actually my second attempt at the theme. The first attempt I forgot about the minimalist part.

Odd Man Out beginning, by Jenn Rodriguez

Once I reached this point, I was really enjoying the process and decided to continue with the navy blues.

Odd Man Out, process, by Jenn Rodriguez

Odd Man Out, process, by Jenn Rodriguez

I loved the mix of navy quilting cottons, chambray (gave lots of direction/movement), home dec and other mystery fabrics from my stash. I lost the minimalist feeling to this as it grew, but really love the final result.

Odd Man Out, finished front, by Jenn Rodriguez

The “back” of the quilt is my exploration of Rossie Hutchinson’s, One Wrong Color tutorial, for the same quilting club. This was not a new technique for me, so it went quicker. Though I think I could have stretched myself a little bit more on the wrong color.

Odd Man Out, finished back, by Jenn Rodriguez

This is heading to QuiltCon. So if you’re in Savannah in February, check it out!

Leave a Reply

