Alison Glass Challenge

Quilting Jetgirl started off the New Year with an Alison Glass fabric challenge. Well…I’ve kind of loved Alison Glass’ fabric for a long time. However I did not realize the extent of this love. As I went through my stash, I had a good pile of fabric – enough to narrow down to a specific palette. So I chose purple, teal and lime green and brought in a black Michael Miller solid for my background. (And I realized about half-way through that one of the lime fabrics was Tula Pink 😉

And what did I decide to make?

Pattern is Green Apples by Lisa Walton, pieced by Jenn Rodriguez

The pattern is “Crisp Apples” by Lisa Walton which you can find in Modern Quilts Unlimited, Summer 2013. Yes, I’ve had my eye on this pattern for a long time and this was the perfect pattern to showcase AG fabric.

The quilt I did before this had 9 seams in total and so this was quite a change. I started with 168 half-square triangles. Piecing-intensive!

There was also a point during construction where my mantra was “trust the pattern”. I didn’t think the colors were placed well or would work well together. “Trust the pattern, trust the pattern”.

Linking up to #QuiltingJetgirlAGChallenge

4 comments

  1. Wow this is such an amazing quilt, love the fabrics and the pattern. I love the black background, really makes the colors stand out. Thanks for linking it up so I could see it.


Leave a Reply

