Finished – Amish Reflections

This is the last quilt I started on last year, during my year of series. My original plan was to play around with the scale of one block.

Amish Play, version 1, by Jenn Rodriguez Amish Play, version 2, by Jenn Rodriguez Amish Play, version 3, by Jenn Rodriguez

But then I got this itch to explore it in a different way. When I first designed this block, I thought it reminded me of an Amish design. Was it the colors? solids? block design? So I decided to explore a little bit by doing one side in solids and the same design on the back, but in prints. I kept the same colorway.

Amish Reflections, front | designed, pieced and quilted by Jenn Rodriguez

The quilt came together really quickly. The hardest part was lining up the front and the back while I was making the quilt sandwich. Lot of pins to mark where edges and corners were.

Amish Reflections, back | designed, pieced and quilted by Jenn Rodriguez

Adding in the prints, completely changed the feeling of this quilt for me. But this is my favorite side. It’s also a little ode to Cotton & Steel. I’ve loved all the fabric this company has come out with, but this is the first time I’ve done a whole quilt in their fabric.

 

Started: December 2016

Finished: January 2017

Dimensions: 91.5″ x  67″

Leave a Reply

